New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Looking for my joy

I am a classically-trained musician. Choral singer and pipe organist. I lost the ability to listen to recorded music when I became disabled (not deaf). I have grieved this for almost 8 years or so.

But the other day I read that Dr. Paul Manz, one of the premier church musicians and organists of the 20th Century and who I knew personally, had been gravely ill with pneumonia when he was older (but still performing) and the antibiotic they gave him to save his life made him deaf.

This made me very sad as he had a great gift. When asked how he felt about losing his hearing, he replied that it would have been worse to lose his sight. The day before he died, his son found him at a table, fingering out a silent Bach Prelude and Fugue, smiling. He had made peace with his immense loss.

I realized that my own situation could be worse: I can still sing and play the piano. It got me thinking how I can reclaim my joy!

Not exactly sure what I am doing here right now but we’ll see what happens. Open to friendship or maybe more. Not sure honestly how much and what my energy levels allow.

Looking for joy again.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Today

Christian Preferences

My denomination is:Lutheran

Wheelchair Preferences

Reason for being in a wheelchair:No stamina. I have to ration my energy and this is easier than walking.
Has been in wheelchair for:Few years, on and off.

Gaming Preferences

Top 3 favorite gamesDon’t play video games. Play a few online games like crossword and scrabble

Dancing Preferences

Started dancingI haven't started yet
Attends dance classesNo, I don't
Attends competitionsNo
Prizes and medals:No
Only dates dancersNo

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageAmerican
BuildA few extra pounds
Height163 cm
Eye ColorHazel
Hair ColorGrey
Hair LengthWaist length
Best featureLegs
Body ArtPierced... but only ear(s)
Health ConditionWheelchair

Situation

Relationship StatusDivorced
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsWith pet(s)
Wants to RelocateMaybe
Have PetsCat

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Bachelors
Employment StatusRetired

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Documentaries, Reality shows, Science fiction
Favorite TV showsMy disability does not allow me to watch TV. But I have listed what I used to watch.
Favorite movies typesI don't like movies
Favorite moviesMy disability does not allow me to watch movies.
Music typesCountry, Classical, Blues, Jazz, Folk
Favorite artistsMy disability does not allow me to listen to music but those were my favorite kinds, when I could. Pretty eclectic actually.
Reading selectionFiction, Health, Science, Science fiction, I'm an author
Favorite booksStar Trek, especially Voyager
Idea of funGoing online. Learning Japanese.
HobbiesLearning, Internet, Games, Photography

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingDon't drink
Social behaviorShy
Friends describe asGoofy
In High School I was a(n)Brain
Sense of humorGoofy
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, Relaxing, Sleeping

Views

Political viewsDemocrat
ReligionLutheran
Goal in lifeTo return to some of my former activities. But my energy level has not allowed that yet.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Empathy, Sensitivity, Oddities, Wit, Thoughtfulness
Look for in a partnerSomebody who can accept me as I am.
On the first dateSomething low-key, talking to get to know each other. Maybe watching the swans in the lake.